What are hand-me-ups?

November 30, 2012 at 11:51 am | Posted in Daily Life | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

This is a new an exciting phenomenon for me – hand-me-ups.  But what are they?

So, I have a 10-year-old niece – a stunningly beautiful blonde girl with huge blue-grey eyes.  She’s blossoming and growing up at a rate of knots.

I started giving her a few pieces of clothing and shoes over the last year – she’s tall for her age and at a compact 5ft 1in I’m distinctly small so she loved my cast-offs.

I barely had time to offload my summer wardrobe from my younger years onto her and the roles have reversed.

In the space of a year she’s overtaken me by two shoe sizes.

She’s pretty much the same height as me and she’s getting hips and a bottom.  I feel for my sister-in-law.

So now something new had occurred – I’m getting hand-me-ups.

It started a few weeks ago when we went to visit for the weekend.  Annoyingly the day after I’d given in and splurged on a pair of warm, comfy Ugg Boots (a must as a new buggy-pushing mother this winter I convinced myself), she presented me with a rather lovely pair of Clark’s boots.

“These might fit you Aunty Cat”.  And they did, like a glove.  My credit card groaned at the injustice whilst I smiled at the possibilities that lay ahead.

I wonder what I might get next time?  Although I can’t see me in those tiny denim shorts – or the Nicki Minaj t-shirt….

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a sweetie! A little variety will do wonders this winter in the boot dept ;-) Must soon be time for your new little arrival??

    • He came a week early – December 1st, little Sully, he’s adorable!

  2. Great post. My daughter’s rummaging in my stuff for things vintage – makes me quake at the thought as I don’t consider myself old enough for vintage. And she’s handing me on things she’s found in charity shops and is now bored with. Does that make them hand-me-ups? Or maybe hand-me-sideways! BWs

    • Yes maybe! Or hand-me-overs?!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

