Be the first to join #declutterday

July 18, 2013 at 10:09 am | Posted in Daily Life | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

9308492569_88d9044525_o

I posted last week about my stuff getting me down – surrounded by clothes that don’t fit, excessive amounts of baby stuff, an overload of kitchen equipment and a garage stacked high with junk.

It’s time to do something – and that post stood out to one person in particular; someone who has become a driving force behind making this happen – the lovely Becca at Becca Lou Creates.

So, welcome – this is officially the start of #declutterday – want a piece of the action?!

What your problem is

Like me, you accumulate stuff.  You only feel satisfied if your day includes a purchase – or two, or three.  It might simply be groceries (including a new body scrub, baking tray or set of Sharpie pens).  It could be clothes – usually impulse purchases, or it could be car boot bargains that you don’t really need and only bought because of the ridiculously low price.  That’s my ultimate weakness – second hand steals.

Because of your constant accumulating, your house is overloaded.  On a daily basis you are reminded of the mounting piles of useless tat, mistake purchases and things you really need to part with.  The satisfaction you feel from buying what feel like treats at the time is far outweighed by the lurching feeling you get when you come down the stairs to see another corner festering with junk.

What you need to do.

Get on board with us – we’ve set ourselves a challenge – it’s called #declutterday – it’s a weekly event, every Thursday.  Your challenge is to get rid of at least five things from your bulging house each week.

How to do it

Use any means possible to relive the pressure on your overloaded home – bring peace and harmony through space – clear house, clear mind.

Here are some of my favourites:

How to sell and give away stuff

- Gumtree – great for low value items that people need quickly and are searching for.  The best bit, it’s totally free, people collect so no trips to the post office.

- Ebay – good for slightly higher value items and clothes (especially maternity); things that are easy to post.  Try Gumtree first and then move onto eBay.

- Facebook groups – there are loads of great Facebook groups to sell items, especially children’s and baby items.

- Charity shops – stop hoping that you’ll get some money eventually for that Karen Millen dress.  If you haven’t in three years, it’s for a reason.  Give it to charity.  Or give it to a friend.  You’ll feel good for it.

- The tip – last resort, take it to the dump.  There’s just some stuff that you can’t even give away.  These days most things can be recycled.

My #declutterday challenge

I tried and failed for the entire week to kick start my #declutterday challenge.  I kept accumulating more stuff and sneaking it into the house – a cute jacket from a charity shop for me, a few more Penguin books (my latest collecting obsession), and various other ‘must have’ items that I simply felt I needed.

And then I gave myself a shake and got started.  Here’s what I did.

Clothes

Left: A complete declutter of my wardrobe.  Things I haven’t worn for years, things that don’t fit, are too short, don’t suit me – you name it.  All ready for a frock swapping event at a local wine bar tonight.  The event includes pampering, what more could I want?  Yes, I will be swapping clothes for more clothes, but at least I’ll come home with new garments that I want to wear.

Right: Hangers.  Boring, yes; far too many, yes.  Straight into the recycling.

bags

Left: a gorgeous leather bag from Boden now listed on eBay.  I love this bag but I don’t use it – it’s too big and deep and I can never find anything in it.  Bye beautiful bag.

Right: Baby carrier.  Show me a woman who can carry a six month old baby on her front, look good, not get back ache and not sweat profusely.  It doesn’t work for me – am happy with my Stokke Xplory – a baby should be pushed not carried.  Listed on Gumtree.

selling

Left: Barbecue – it was destined for the tip when I bought a new one for husband for our wedding anniversary (to make up for forgetting it); but I stuck it on Gumtree for £20 and a lovely couple came and got it today.  I was late home and they were waiting for me so I gave them iced cordial to try and make up for it.

Right: Coca Cola tins.  I got these from a car boot sale in a moment of ‘I must collect Coca Cola stuff, it’s valuable’ haze.  I don’t need them.  They’re now on eBay.

charity

Finally, a HUGE bag of horrid, why did I ever buy them type clothes for the charity shop.

So, if my items sell, I will have done pretty well in my first week.  Next week, a progress update!

Want to join in?

Get to work folks.  Post your first #declutterday post next Thursday and you can add the badge to your blog too – here’s the link!

Ultimately, you’ll feel good – your house will be clutter free, as will your mind.  Enjoy!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well done, you’ve made a great start…I need to get more on eBay

  2. I’ve red a great help to let go of things you do like, but don’t need. Just make a picture of it before you throw them out. .Woepiroman


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

