It’s what’s on the inside that counts

September 14, 2009 at 11:41 am | Posted in Something for Mum | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Sorry for the absence recently, just back from summers hols; have lots to tell you about that, in the mean time, we’re breaking ourselves back in with a little beauty time.

I am the first to admit that I am swayed very easily by shiny things, gift wrapped boxes, sumptuous tubes and sparkly bottles.

However, sometimes these aint the products that cut the mustard.  So we’ve decided to give a much deserved mention for our favourite tried and tested products that may not jump off the shelf at you, but do the job better than anything else.

Flexitol Heel Balm

Hi Anna here with my first official product review. I have been using Flexitol Heel Balm now for 2 weeks. It has been scientifically formulated to hydrate dry, cracked heels. At this time of year especially I suffer with cracked skin on my feet due to the constant wearing of flip flops and the fact that I am always on my feet chasing Luke around. I have been applying the balm twice a day and I noticed the difference within a couple of days. My skin is noticeably softer and smoother. It retails at around £5.50 for 56g tube, which is very reasonable. So if you are looking for something to treat your feet with this is definitely worth a go.

heelbalm56g

Catherine here!  I’ve been using the heel balm for a few weeks too, trying to remember to use it before bed as part of my new ‘looking after mum’ routine!

It’s fab!  I don’t know quite what happened to my feet last summer during my pregnancy, but my once soft, quite attractive (I think, my husband disagrees) feet became dry, cracked, and really not to be shown off in flip flops.

The balm is really thick and gloopy, not the most attractive in colour, but it works.  The deep lines on my heels have vanished and the skin is revived.  Ditch the expensive options you see in glossy magazines, if you want something that works, try this.

www.flexitol.com

Scholl Nail Brightening Kit

NBS low res

If you’re Friday afternoon booking at the beauty salon for a pedicure has been replaced by a session at a soft play centre, trying to help little one negotiate the squashy cubes, or unbury him from the ball pit, then curse no more.

This little nail brightening kit is great.  File the nails first (it took me a while to find the cute little emery pad on the end of the stick), then the protective gel is applied to reduce nail thickness and discolouration.  Finally, a quick drying layer of polish is applied.  It contains a UV brightener which makes nails appear shinier and healthier.

The result, amazing looking manicured nails.  All in about three minutes.  This kit is so good that you’ll end up using it all the time, and wearing open toe shoes daily as a result (note, sandals do not look good with joggers).

And a review from Anna too!

My toenails looked great after I used this and they needed a lot of work as I tend to neglect them especially now I am a mum!!  It doesn’t really look that great in the packet; it probably wouldn’t catch my eye if I was out shopping. Overall, I would give this product 6/10 purely because it is quite expensive at £9.99

Scholl

Priva Shave

Priva Shave Women

Shaving our legs is a chore.  There’s no getting away from it, when you need to jump in the shower and know that the push and go car you’ve left little one playing with contains about three and a half minutes worth of entertainment value without your involvement, then shaving your legs has to be a speedy exercise.

I’ve suffered with itchy legs for as long as I can remember, so shaving is a particularly stressful job, knowing that the following day, for the next three to four days, I’ll have an overwhelming desire to scratch at my calves, sometimes until they bleed.  Lovely.

So, in summer, shaving leads to an inevitable ‘yes I’ve shaved my legs but I can’t wear a dress because they’re all scratched’ tantrum when trying to select outfits for the numerous weddings we have this year.  I love a good wedding.  I hate wearing tights.

Priva shave in a nutshell is an alcohol based gel which contains an antiseptic as well as an anti-inflammatory ingredient to stop to irritation that shaving causes.  It also softens the skins and prevents dryness and scaling of the skin.

At last, I can wear a sodding dress!  I can honestly say, having reverted back from my salon trips for leg waxing to shaving, this product has taken a more than irritating problem out of my life.

Body4Real

What we’re trying to say is that yes beautiful crystal encrusted tubes, pink fluffy powder puffs and sleek bottles look great in the bathroom, but if you want to look good out the outside, it’s what’s on the inside of those little bottles that counts.

Flexitol Heel Balm was kindly sent to us by Flexitol, the Scholl Nail Set by Scholl  and Priva Shave by Body4Real.  We stick to the bloggers with integrity code to only promote products that we truly, truly love.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

