Christmas comes early

December 2, 2009 at 10:22 am | Posted in Pregnancy | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

From Lisa our pregnant mummy….

I don’t deny that a baby shower is possibly nothing more than a perfect excuse to gather baby gifts, and other essentials from your loved ones before baby arrives but for me it was also a lovely afternoon spent catching up with old mates and being made to feel special.   So as my other half sets off to Liverpool to watch the game with the lads and I spent the afternoon cooing over Jasper Conran Babygros and baby slings – what more could I ask for.

Everyone managed to turn up donning the most beautiful gifts – it was a bit like Christmas had come early for me and baby Romeo.  My sister in law knocks up the most delicious cupcakes complete with baby blue sugar decorations which were pretty much the ‘talk of the shower’ and mum helps with canapes and games which include guessing the size of my bump, a pram shaped piñata and a baby food tasting contest.  We all managed to get the flavours wrong on that one!

Later on all of my friends were asked to guess the date of baby’s arrival and other stats including how long  my labour will be – wasn’t impressed with the person who wrote 48 hours! I even got everyone to write little messages for me – a cheeky one included ‘Next time use a condom!’  Well Im proud to say we didn’t use one.  Romeo was not an accident but a fantastic surprise which we had planned.

Having the baby shower has not only brought me a step closer to becoming a mother but was also a nice way to celebrate my nine months of pregnancy and the imminent arrival of my little bundle of joy.

With only 28 days to go I would definitely recommend a baby shower to any pregnant ladies out there! I thoroughly enjoyed picking out and making my little favours and decorating my new flat with blue balloons – a great excuse to say ‘I’m proud to become a mum’!

Lisa x

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

