Did I influence our local voting?!

May 7, 2010 at 7:46 am | Posted in Daily Life | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

Waking up to incredible (yes that’s the only word for it) news this morning – the Conservatives and Nicola Blackwood have taken our local seat in Oxford West and Abingdon by a tiny 200 votes!
So, could my election questionnaire and the coverage in the local press have had an impact?!  Who knows – secretly I am imagining yes.  The truth is probably not, but even if a few people questioned their decision that’s amazing.  I had loads of hits to the blog so maybe people read the Labour and Conservative replies, noted the absence of the Lib Dems, and that’s why they lost their seat!

However I just said to husband, ‘I think it might have been because of me’ in a childlike way.  He’s still laughing.  A lot.

What’s interesting is that everyone thought the Lib Dems were here to stay, and I wonder whether that’s what they thought too, so didn’t reply to my questions, even after saying they did want to take part.

Anyway, that’s not what this has been about – it was about me making an educated decision.  At 5.30pm last night I went through all the answers and wrote down the plus points from each party and came to my decision from there.

Here’s why I voted Conservative:

Health

A patient watchdog

Increased spending

Cut down on paperwork and admin

More health visitors

Education

Improve schools

Open more schools

Work and families

No penalties against married couples for tax credits

Simplified tax credits

Police

Elected police commissioners to speak directly to people

End of stop and search forms, simply radio in for information
Local town

More input from local people on decisions

Work on traffic issues

Marketing of the town

Recycling

Rewards and incentives for recycling

So, that’s it in a nutshell, and I feel like I’ve been a part of something big.  The papers are coming back at lunchtime to cover the follow-up so I’ll post the link when it’s published.

Thanks all for following my election journey, I know a great deal more about politics than I did a week ago that’s for sure!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had hoped my Tory vote had worked too but unfortunately, everyone round here keeps on voting Lib Dem and so nothing gets done. I’m actually quite annoyed today and only hope Nick Clegg will join forces with Cameron.

    CJ xx

    • I never anticipated getting this into the election, will be keen to see what happens next!
      Apparently Evan Harris our Lib Dem MP who lost his seat, didn’t even turn up to the count of the votes!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

