My glam day at the She magazine shoot

May 17, 2010 at 7:34 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 13 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today I hit the big city for a shoot with She magazine for a feature about being online too much.  Yes the writer might make it sound like my Blackberry is glued to my fingers, and I have a holster for my laptop but who cares – I love writing my blog, and Twitter is my window to the world, and a place where I’ve made great friends.  And, of course we had a lovely day of pampering today – for any mum, sitting in front of a mirror with lights all around the edge having your make up done and hair put in the most amazing rollers is A+++.

After a mini panic at the station when I thought I’d waved my mum off with my tickets, I boarded the train from Oxford and enjoyed an hour journey into Paddington, tweeting with Laura (@petweetpoppet) about our distance from the studio, how sad.

I could completely get used to having a car collect me.  How nice.

I felt a little awkward when I arrived, meeting tweeting pals in person for the first time.  But when I spied the racks of gorgeous clothes I relaxed a little – especially after I got over having my legs out – they are my horrid part of my body.  I hate them.  Hate, hate, hate.

Anyway, highlights included a really good getting to know session with Sian (@mummytips).  Being a fellow PR we had lots to chat about, as well as CyberMummy, the bloggy event of the year.  She’s really lovely, and am really glad to have met her in person at last.

Other highlights – the massive rollers, I need some of those, as well as not falling off the heels, and introducing a very bemused stylist, makeup artist, hair person and photographer to our wonderful world of online addiction.

Those rollers

Laura looking uber chic

Sian looking far too cool

Me trying to hold that smile (tongue in roof of mouth a la Victoria Beckham trick)

All in all a fab day, thank you She – Francesca, Chloe, Caroline, Sophie and Lisa.  As well as Lucy the writer – please don’t make it sound like I live in a dark blogger/twitterer hole too much!

I didn’t get to talk to Emma of My Wardrobe that much but she was lovely too and will hopefully get to know better soon – her outfit was incredible!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful day! Look forward to seeing the feature!

  2. You all look lovely 🙂

    What is this “tongue in roof of mouth” trick? Please share 😀

    • If you put your thumb under your chin, then push your tongue up into the roof of your mouth, you’ll feel that podgy bit under your chin tighten up so your neck and chin look slimmer!!!!! Sounds ridiculous, must have read it in some trashy mag, apparently that’s what the stars including Victoria Beckham do!

  3. Looks like loads of fun….

    You’ll have to let us know when it’s out 😉

    • I think it’s July or August, will post it when it comes out!

  4. Brill run down of our day! Mine will follow tomorrow! Was great to meet you and Sian and I am inspired to improve my blogability! x

    • Can’t wait to read it, and it was great to meet you!

  5. Sounds like you all had fun and the pictures are fab. x

  6. Firstly, wow! Why do you hate your legs? They look fab to me! Looks like a great day! Can’t wait to see the magazine when it comes out!

    • I had pretty thick skin colour tights on!!! It’s a problem I’ve had since teens, I scratch them in my sleep, who knows why, but they’re always a mess!

  7. […] She Magazine shoot with my girl Sian (Mummy […]

  8. […] been on the cover of Tesco Magazine and been featured in She, The Daily Mail and a number of other women’s magazines, regional press and took part in a […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

