A letter to my 18 year old son

June 20, 2010 at 9:06 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

To my beautiful son.

You are 18 years old, I can’t believe I am a mother to a grown up person.  Not a baby boy any more.

As I write this, you are a sleeping two year old.  A busy day messing around in Grandma and Grandad’s garden, making us laugh, and so proud.  It’s Father’s Day and I know your daddy things you are truly incredible.

At the moment your happy life revolves around tractors, cars, planes and nak-naks (snacks).

You’re in to everything, wanting to know how things work.

Work experience with mummy

You’re independent, curious and always full of energy.

When we take you places people stop to talk to you.  Your golden hair making people coo.

You are social and content.  95% of the time!

When you read this I wonder what you will have grown up to be.  I imagine something where you can use your hands – you’re like your Grandads, who are practical and good at making and doing.

You’ll make a wonderful, caring and considerate family man I think.  A bit of a joker but always a comforting shoulder.

My hopes for you are that you enjoy school and make lots of friends.  That you can tell me anything and know that I’ll offer you my best advice.

I hope that you are confident to express yourself in the way you want to and be the person you want to be.  I hope that you stand up for what you believe in and know that people are attracted to honesty.

More than anything I hope that you know that you can always come home to your mum.

I love you.

p.s. I am posting this letter to my son for him to open in 16 years time.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely, this gave me goosebumps 🙂

  2. Another of your posts have me in tears at work. This is truly beautiful. I might have to steal your idea and do the same for my two. I wish for what you do in my sons. Mainly that they can always and hopefully will always come home to their mummy. Great post xx

  3. lovely x


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

