A short post for my husband – inspired by The Notebook

July 16, 2010 at 9:06 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Tonight husband and I watched The Notebook.  Watching a film together isn’t just a night in front of the box, it’s rare quality time together, just the two of us, on the sofa  We celebrated our third wedding anniversary this week.  I know we’ll make it to thirty.  And more.

As long as he stops leaving his wet bath towel on the bed that is.

I think the film ended about half an hour ago, my eyes are still red and watery.  My face is puffy.  I am a complete softy when it comes to love stories.

If you don’t know the story, here’s the plot of The Notebook.  Without giving it all away if you haven’t seen it.

A more than a few snotty tissues later, inspired by a story of true love, forever after, here is a letter that I’d like my husband to read when we’re old and grey.

If there is such a thing as love at first sight, then we saw it.

If soul mates really exist, then you are mine.

If something was ever meant to be, then we were.

I’ve loved you from the start, even over the hills and mountains.

I think we both had hope when we were apart.

You complete me, and my life, and I can’t imagine a life without you.

We joke about booking ahead, into a nice retirement home, so we can be together.

We laugh about making the most of having free time, people to care for us, afternoons of old movies and board games.

As long as you promise that we’ll always do everything together.

As long as you promise that we’ll stay together even if one of us needs more help than the other.

I miss you just thinking about you.

I go to sleep each night comforted by knowing that I have you.

I wake up each morning knowing nothing can touch me, because I have you.

I love you.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I cried at that film too. Lovely letter.

  2. Aww that is so beautiful. Many tissues required. xx

  3. awww that’s so romantic! bless you!

  4. That is a lovely letter, nothing beats a good marriage 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

