The Gallery: Nature

July 28, 2010 at 7:54 pm | Posted in The Gallery | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

This is my entry for week 21 of The Gallery, hosted by the lovely Sticky Fingers, and this week sponsored by Green & Black’s.  Mmm.

We love being outdoors.

And there’s no better place to be outdoors with nature than Grandma and Grandad’s garden, and their amazing vegetable patch.

We’ve started growing our own veg this year, and the bear loves to help with the watering.  We’ve got lettuces (I took some to a meeting and gave it to a client as we’re a little overrun, think they thought I’d gone mad!), courgettes, squash, peppers, spinach and pattypans.

Spot the one the slugs got to!

But we’ve got a long way to go before we’re anywhere near the allotment size plot of vegetable beds my parents have.

Isn’t it funny, you grow up thinking your parents are soooo old and soooo boring – you hit your thirties and you want to be just like them!

I hope this post inspires any who’s debated growing their own veg – it’s so therapeutic, and easy to get started, especially with something like spinach which you can grow from seed in a few weeks.

Go and be green fingered.

Finally, this sprung up with the lettuces, any ideas as to what it is?!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it some kind of tomato? I’ll ask hubby he was a horticulturalist. I like the pictures – it’s a nice take on nature for your family.

  2. Lovely photos and nature at it’s tasteiest. x

  3. How lovely. My boys love wandering around their grandad’s garden and greenhouse 🙂

  4. I’d say tomatoes too! 😀

  5. DEFINITELY a tomato!

  6. Yep, thinking tomatoes here too.

    • Thanks super sleuths! I think it must have come from my parents, as the lettuces started at their garden!

  7. I’ve still got packs of seeds stored away in the shed which I’ve been saying for the last 5 months now I would plant! I’m just not green fingered enough!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

