The funny things we say and do

October 5, 2010 at 7:29 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

A few weeks ago my eight year old niece was asking about funny things we did as children – what she was actually doing was stalling from going to bed but it was fun, I was crying with laughter at some of the things I did and said.

I was reminded to write about this today by a couple of stories in our nursery newsletter – this one is fantastic.

On the way to preschool, the doctor had left her stethoscope on the car seat, and her little girl picked it up and began playing with it.  Be still, my heart, thought my friend, my daughter wants to follow in my footsteps.

The the child spoke into the instrument: “welcome to McDonald’s.  May I take your order?”.

When I was thinking back to funny things I did as a child a few spring to mind.

– After reading Moving Molly by Shirley Hughes I decided tea parties in secret gardens were for me.  So I tried to cook a pot noodle in a pan over a candle behind a bush.

– Wanting to be a reporter, and sulking in the car outside my grandparents house aged about 9, I set about brushing up my investigative skills and stalked a man around the estate.  I picked up his discarded cigarette end and slipped it into an ‘evidence bag’.

– I rescued a crow that had fallen from a tree, called him Alfie and nursed him back to health.  I taught him to fly again (no joke he would fly around the garden and land back on my shoulder).  Then he died, sadly.

A love of animals.

What funny things did you do as a child?  Mine mainly revolved around creating adventures, writing about them and rescuing small animals.  So I guess I had two careers ahead of me – I chose writing.  I daydream about a career in the RSPCA sometimes; I’m far too soft though.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOL these are so funny. I wanted to be a fashion designer. I designed clothes for my Sindy dolls, they progressed onto me and my friends. I loved art and got accepted to art school but didn’t go. xx


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.