Back to my roots – the Daily Mail challenge

October 6, 2010 at 7:04 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

It’s one of those double post days!

A little hello to all those who’ve hopped over from the Daily Mail having read about me and five others taking the challenge to go back to our roots.

I went back to my natural red – like many have suggested, it has faded over the years – this is me as a child.

This is me as you may have seen in the feature in The Daily Mail.

And this is me with a little less salon ‘diffusing’! In natural light it is actually very close to my natural colour.  The slightly nervous smile is actually an ‘it’s 3pm I’ve had nothing to eat and I could murder some chicken nuggets’ smile.  I need to eat.  I wasn’t prepared to sacrifice a meal for my hair.

I have never felt so flattered (without appearing to be a complete sap, I was gob smacked/relieved/amazed), thank you for the positive comments.

To me, returning to my redhead roots means a number of things.

I am the real me after many, many years.  What you see is what you get.

It reflects my personality far better.  I may have lost my fiery teenager tantrum qualities but I’m still a typical Taurean redhead.

It suits my fair complexion – who was I trying to kid being a bronzed blonde?!

I am showing that I am happy in my skin.  I only wish I’d done it sooner.

Again not wanting to sound like some loser, returning to my roots has been an absolute breath of fresh air – this is the new, happier, more confident me.  If you’ve doubted returning to your roots, do it, do it.

And yes I will continue to look at my reflection in shop windows.  No apologies.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW Looking at the two pictures of you blonde and you with your gorgeous new colour you can really see the difference! Your complexion looks so much brighter for it! Lovely! 😀

  2. I LOVE this post, it is my favourite one ever. You look amazing and you sound so happy. xx

  3. You look great both ways, but the red really brings your eyes out. It’s a lovely colour.

    S x

  4. You look bloomin’ great 😀


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

