Welcome to the (digital) world – babies who were born way before the words ‘puuuuusshhhh’

October 22, 2010 at 9:32 am | Posted in Daily Life, Pregnancy | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Like lots of you, I began keeping a diary during my pregnancy.  And as a result I had what AVG are calling a ‘digital birth’.

My baby son was born, and a digital footprint was created well before I held my little purple steaming bundle of joy for the first time and proceeded to force down a piece of toast before staggering down the corridor from side to side on instructions to have a shower (oh the memories).

Welcome to the (online) world.

In this day and age (I’m sorry I hate that phrase, will not use again) our fondness of sharing every waking moment with the world through the medium of blogging, Tweeting, Facebooking and all that shabang, means that we are giving our children personal profiles while they’re still just beans on a baby scan picture.

10 days before the actual, real birth.

In the US, 92% of children under the age of 2 have a digital profile.  It does make you wonder what they’ll think of the total lack of privacy we’ve inflicted on them when they get old enough to have a say.  Does anyone have children who have objected?  Or are in the opposite corner and love being in the lime light?

Now I do spend an ulhealthy increasing amount of time online – but not even I’ve created an email address OR Facebook profile for the bear!  Apparently 7% and 5% respectively have! And, when surveyed a fifth of mothers in the US said they upload pictures of their baby ‘to add more content to their social networks’! You’ll be pleased to know that ‘to share with family and friends’ came higher.

On a scale of 1-5 most mother’s were only moderately concerned about online security (around a 3).  So whilst we’re busy noting every momentous occasion, milestone and development – this should serve as a good reminder to check those privacy settings, see who is following you on Twitter and ask yourself, in 10 years time, is your 12 year old going to be pleased about the extensive detail you’ve gone in to about their funny shaped ears or tendancy to strip off in the supermarket…. and on a very serious note, can anyone find out where you live, where you work, where your children go to school or nursery?

Is your online world putting your real family at risk?

AVG kindly provided the stats for this post and have got me superdupery protected with their latest anti-virus software! We stick to the bloggers with integrity code to only promote products that we truly, truly love.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You really don’t think about the content of your online activity and the affect it might have on your children years from now. Well I don’t anyway. I really should. I always think of myself as being safe online as I work with computers, programming, etc but in fact it may give me a false sense of security. Great post. I think I need to think about this. x


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

