Britax King Plus Car Seat Review

November 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm | Posted in Reviews | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

Wife: ‘Um, our new car seat, could you put it in my car when you get home from work?’.

Husband: ‘Yes’.

Wife: ‘Um, did you have time to put the car seat in for me?’.

Husband ‘No, was I supposed to?  Did you ask me?’.

Wife: ‘Yes, I asked yesterday and the day before’.

Husband: ‘Sorry, did you, I didn’t hear you’.

Wife: ‘Don’t worry, can you do it now?’

Husband: ‘Yes’.

Wife: ‘Did you put the car seat in yet?’.

Husband: ‘No.  Was I supposed to?’.

So, I decided to do it myself.  Why I thought it was a man job to start with is quite beyond me.  Ridiculous.

After watching the short YouTube video I’d done it in a matter of minutes.  I kid you not, less time that it takes to collect wet towels and discarded boxer shorts from the landing.  Less time than it takes to scrape Weetabix from the wall.

We were in desperate need of a new car seat.  Although our previous one was Britax too, it cost £25 from a local newspaper and you never feel quite as safe with hand me down.

The King Plus is super cosy and snug – I’d like a similar head rest / cushion for myself for in the car.  It looks made to measure.

So after my super fast installation we took it for a test drive to nursery.  The straps are really easy to adjust and the padded parts at the top fit over bears shoulders keeping him firmly in place.  You know if you had to brake suddenly he wouldn’t move at all.  We didn’t practice an emergency stop I should add.

The design is really simple, classic black.  I have to admit (so shoot me), that the colour co-ordination of baby accessories is important to me.  Even down to dummies, snack pots and change bags.  Why should we lose our sense of style when we have children?!

So all in all I’d give the King Plus car seat top marks – mainly because it’s just so sturdly and secure.  Think about those locking harness seats on the upside-downy rides at Drayton Manor*, but all squishy and comfy and padded.  You aint never going to come out of one of them.

The Britax King Plus has a five point safety harness, side impact protection, adjustable head rest and washable cover, plus all the features you would expect as standard.  The RRP is approx £126.  Google for many different retailers.

* Please note that my driving does not bear any resemblance to being on a scary theme park ride.

The Britax King Plus car seat was kindly sent to us to review by Britax.  We stick to the bloggers with integrity code to only promote products that we truly, truly love.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks like you got one of the lucky ones, and by that I mean the car!
    Thanks for sharing your review, I found this seat very good except that with my particular model car, I had to use towels to make it fit snugly because the design of the seat was too upright – or something?

    Great baby seat that I highly recommend though 🙂

    • I must admit they did help me choose a seat specific to my make and model of car – I never knew that different seats would suit different cars!
      It’s a fab seat I agree – I wish though that the buckle at the bottom was adjustable as it’s quite hard getting the clips into it being right between baby’s legs!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

