Did you say your willy has fallen off?!

January 16, 2011 at 4:31 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 16 Comments
Tags: , , ,

And other conversations with a two-year old.

Bear is actually almost two and a half and at the most fun age I’ve experienced so far.

We can almost hold a conversation.  Almost.  If wellies weren’t willies (far better for your welly to fall off), and Wendy (from nursery) wasn’t windy.

The age from two to three is definitely fun.  And a challenge too.

Take this week’s saga.  ‘Oh no mummy, oh no a poo poo’.

Does he need a poo?! Does he need one but no longer wants to do it in his nappy?! Need one but it won’t come out?!  I could go on but I’ll spare you.

So whilst we can almost make sense out of each other sometimes guessing games spanning hours ensue.

A 20 second snack request can go something like this…

‘I want raisins mummy’.  ‘No mummy, no like raisins, want yoghurt mummy’.  ‘No mummy crispies’.   ‘Mummy chocolate?’.  ‘Cup tea mummy’.  ‘I love bread mummy’.

At the garden centre today he paused to talk to Bob the carrot whilst he sat on his perch and ate a biscuit.  Who’s a pretty carrot then.

We also visited the chickelins in their coops.  One tried to peck his willy.  See earlier point.

He also seems to have developed a habit of repeating important words such as ‘mummy light on on please’ or ‘mummy nak nak please’ which requires instant ‘snack.  I fear the parents may be responsible for double word syndrome.

We have a pretty good discipline system in place, well as much as you can at this stage.  Time out works well, as long as you don’t let him see you laugh when he brings his shoulders up, does his cuter than cute smile and cocks his head on one side to see if he can get out of it.

But what I really like more than anything about this age is

‘Lie down mummy, lie down I stroke your face’.

Now this, I could get used to.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. AW how lovely . . . can’t wait till my little one starts talking xxx

    • It’s amazing, and once they start, they don’t stop! A new word a minute it feels like!

  2. […] just read the very funny blog by Babygenie about conversations with her two and a half-year old I felt a bit inspired to write about my own […]

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Catherine Warrilow and mintyking, Susie . Susie said: RT @Baby_Genie: Did you say your willy has fallen off?! http://ow.ly/3EHlh > lol at the things kids say. Reminds me of @VBinCatalunya 's LO […]

  4. ….Tell them you got there first!!! http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2011/jan/16/pigs-love-to-eat-willies?INTCMP=SRCH

    • Brilliant!!! Bet they were more embarrassed!

  5. This is so cute and so funny!
    Our 19 month old has decided to add a ‘y’ onto the end of most words, I always made an effort to not do this for some reason so a bird was always a bird (not birdy) and dog is a dog (not doggy)
    Anyway, he has now changed moon to moony and van to vanny! Both not ideal but still quite cute!

    He also the other day decided to say ‘ooohhhh dear!’ when my husband took his pj trousers off! My husband couldn’t help but feel a little sensitive to this but then he said the same to me! I later realised its all down to the Tombliboos! Whenever their trousers fall off we say oh dear and it seems to have moved into real life as well!
    All very funny though.

    • They do say hilarious things! Our little chatterbox has also started saying ‘it’s amazing’ and ‘oh my goodness’! Both things I say regularly it appears!

  6. I love the “mummy lie down” one, we get that too. I pray it lasts for a while longer yet!!

    Mine (2.2yo) also has just come out with “Oh my goodness” which is just the cutest thing ever. I am now saying “golly gosh” out loud at any given opportunity to hope he picks it up!

    • So funny isn’t it! I also love it when he says ‘alwight mummy, alwight now’.

  7. Two years old is one of my favourite ages, with the exception of tandrums. My soon to be two year old never stops talking. They are so funny the things they say. He calls me a boy all the time. And I say I’m a girl and he says no you’re a boy. They are funny x

    • Bear does that if he doesn’t know someone’s name and wants to get their attention – ‘girl, girl come here girl’ so funny!

  8. So cute. My daughter is 19 months and is stringing together 2 or 3 words which sometimes take a degree in foreign languages to work out!

    It’s so much fun though!

    • It is a massive guessing game, like toddler charades!

  9. “Lie down I stroke your face” well it doesn’t get better than that!

    Up until a few days ago I would have chimed in and said much the same thing about my 2yo daughter. Sadly in the past couple of days she has taken to stabbing her finger into my chest and going “naughty, naughty, naughty mummy.” Considering she’s never seen either of her parents do that, we’re at a loss!

    • Hilarious, had a little guffaw outloud!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

