The Gallery: Mother Nature

January 19, 2011 at 2:03 pm | Posted in The Gallery | 9 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I desperately wanted to post a picture of me with a jackdaw which fell out of a tree.  I called him Alfie and taught him to fly again (yes really).  He’d fly around the garden and land on my arm.  He died and I think the pictures are in my ‘animals’ scrap book from when I was about 12 years old.

Instead I’ve chosen this picture from Abel Tasman in New Zealand.

We visited this National Park as part of our four month long round the world trip in 2007.

It was a beautiful place.  As we started our walk we crossed over a small bridge and looked down on thousands of tiny crabs scurrying around in the water.  As a child I loved nothing more than rock pooling on the beach and still today I love a good beach comb and furtle around under the rocks for crabs and treasure.

Mother Nature must mean something different to almost everyone.  To me it means noticing what is around us and taking it in – enjoying the different seasons.  It also means knowing that things happen for a reason.  At the right time.  To my great aunt, who sees fairies and paints them, it means something quite different I am sure.

Finally, please spare a thought to all of those in Australia affected by the floods.  Mother nature can be unkind.

This is my entry for The Gallery at Sticky Fingers. Hop over for a look at all of the amazing entries.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautiful. That place looks stunning. x

  2. Looks like an amazing place. I’d love to go to New Zealand.

  3. what a gorgeous photo 🙂

  4. That is a great picture. I love the way the tree has a foothold on that rock!

  5. Great post, I love your interpretation of Mother Nature. And that jackdaw sounds amazing.

    • It really was, so tame, I thought I had a ‘connection’ with nature!!!

  6. Nice shot, I love Australia nd New Zealand, spent wonderful 5 years living and traveling around ;))) @Kahanka

  7. Beautiful photo. I’m from NZ but I’ve never been there; I must puit that right one day…

    • I would live in New Zealand, it’s the one place we’re desperate to go back to, it’s amazing, we have so so so many fantastic memories.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

