I don’t need it now but I NEED to know where it is

January 22, 2011 at 8:38 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 7 Comments
Tags: , , ,

“I have three things to find and I’ve only found one of them” I reply angrily when husband enquires as to what I am doing and if dinner is on the way.

Dinner is going to be late tonight.

The objects in question? A frying pan, mini ketchup and mini mustard from bear’s new kitchen set, two wooden shapes from his magnetic crane and finally the boulder from the Thomas the Tank Engine train run.

It’s nearing 7pm the time at which dinner is usually served, but at this current moment in time I am becoming more and more neurotic by the second. My eyeballs are bulging out and I am pretty sure I have a Monica vein pulsating on the side of my forehead.

I read a very similar dilemma in The Guardian magazine today by Tim Dowling.  A head nodding and concurring account of a set of misplaced car keys which turned up in his wifes pocket after he rudely left lunch guests in favour of sorting through the kitchen bin even though he knew they wouldn’t be in there.

I hauled our entire bin of recycling back in from the verge and went through it all.  Twice.

I emptied the toy box.  More than twice.

I moved furniture, went through hand bags, change bags and gym bags.  Nothing.

When husband asked if I actually needed to find any of these items I barked a fed up “no”.  I didn’t need to find any of them but I had to.  I had to know where they were.  Where they were hiding.  Now.  There would be no dinner until I had located them.

After an hour an a half of searching husband casually said (from the comfort of the sofa “what’s that under the TV unit?”.  The boulder.  The sodding boulder.

We did eat dinner.

The two missing shapes had been in the boot of the car.

The missing kitchen items are yet to be located.  It still keeps me awake at night.  God forbid I lose anything else before I find them.  I’ll have to start a list of yet to be found things.

That reminds me the mouse for my computer never did show up.  Pass me a pen and paper.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Maxi knows where every thing, yes every toy is. He would hyperventilate if he didnt. He has a real paddy when Mini messes with his stuff!

    • It’s funny how we get so crazy about it. Alongside forgetting good ideas, it’s the bane of my life!

  2. LOL I am exactly the same. There is a place for everything and everything in it’s place. I have a fit when the boys open presents before I do a mental inventory of what the toy contains. We are crazy aren’t we? x

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Catherine Warrilow, Catherine Warrilow. Catherine Warrilow said: Why do we HAVE to find lost things?! http://ow.ly/3Isza […]

  4. I can honestly say I’m not like this.

    My hub is though.

    He went on an hour search for our bub’s play phone and it showed up 3 days later in the boot of her ride on. x

    • I absolutely do not know why we do it to ourselves! What’s the point?! It’s verging on OCD. I wish I wasn’t like it but I HAVE to know it’s crazy!!!

  5. While you’re at it, we’ve lost 4 AA batteries, the DVD remote control, more than a care to mention pairs of shoes for Barbie dolls, and a little bit of my sanity. Happy hunting! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

