The Gallery: Children

January 26, 2011 at 9:05 pm | Posted in The Gallery | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

This week I’m flying close to the wind, but still sneaking in a late entry for The Gallery. It’s like an addiction, I just can’t miss it.

The theme over at Sticky Fingers this week is children.  I confess that in the rush between dinner and chill out time I haven’t read the brief or anyone else’s posts yet, so here goes.

This is me at about two and a half years old, I’m not sure where; mum?!

As a child I was fascinated by animals and desperately wanted to feed, nurture and care for whatever I could.

Birds and mice bought in by the cat (although they rarely survived), a hedgehog found in the undergrowth, a stray cat which followed me home and a bird that fell from a tree (who I named Alfie and taught to fly).

If it needed mothering I wanted to take it in.

And I still feel the same now.  It doesn’t go does it?! I still hope to happen upon an injured vole to rescue.  That childhood feeling of excitement that you could care for another life.

That reminds me, I recall sticking my arm down mole hills on family walks trying to catch a mole; I’m sure someone told me it would be easy because they’re blind!

I am not odd by the way, I just missed my calling as a Dr Doolittle.

Check out all of the other amazing (maybe not so animal focussed) entries for The Gallery here.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aww you are so adorable. Bear looks so like you x

    • He does now doesn’t he! It’s a nice feeling!

  2. You look so cute feeing those birds. Love those dungarees you are wearing too 🙂

    • I lived in dungarees and flannel t-shirts I think!

  3. You look just a bit concerned about those pigeons! 😉 Adorable…

    Karin

    • I think it was more a look of frustration that they weren’t coming and hopping onto my arm to come home with me!

  4. It was on holiday – probably Barcelona!

    • I thought it looked like Venice but didn’t remember going there that young.

      • It was Spain….May 1981…. the very first of our many holidays there! You were 2 years and 1 month.
        Venice was 1987…more pics of you and pigeons there!!!

  5. Wow, I’m impressed he wasn’t scared to go so close to them. So cute 😉 @Kahanka

    • That’s me!!!! Bear looks more and more like me by the day, but this was me in 1981!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

