When will I be a grown up?

February 8, 2011 at 8:02 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

I still cry if I stub my toe.

I still bring the covers down to watch a good film on the sofa.

I still really need my mum.

I still need a cuddle.

I still get scared of funny noises in the night.

I still get up at 5am on Christmas morning to see the presents under the tree.

I still sulk and slam doors if I don’t get my own way.

I still prefer cake than sandwiches for lunch.

I still want a sticker when I go to the dentist.

I still have bad dreams.

I still get candy floss at the fair.

I still need to be told that I’ve done something really, really well.

Does this ever change?  Or do we all feel like we’re not quite grown ups yet?

Sometimes I feel like a seven year old girl inside a thirty-something year old body.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I sneakily suspect that very few of us feel like grown-ups, especially those who have children. “I still need to be told that I’ve done something really, really well.” – yup, no matter how much I tell myself that I can be mature and can cope and it’s all down to me, it’s still so important to have someone to say “well done”.

    • It’s funny how a pat on the back means so much!

  2. Not sure we ever really grow up. I nodded in agreement to all of those!!

    • Am relieved to hear it’s not just me!

  3. lol Reading your list, I thought I pretty much do all of them. So I don’t think we ever grow up. x

  4. Gosh, reading this you just described me and I’m 32 so perhaps we don’t.

    I think that is good news. Young at heart and all that.

    • Definitely. I forgot to add that I also take a pillow on long car journeys!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

