My secret chilli con carne recipe

February 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I love to cook.  That hour between 6-7pm (if husband is home and on bath and books duty), is my hour, alone, in the kitchen.

For many, preparing dinner is a chore, but to me it’s my time off, just me and a recipe book, cooking a decent meal….. maybe I need to get out more!

I don’t buy extravagant ingredients or shop at fancy deli counters.  I’m fortunate that my mum instilled a love of home cooking in my brother and I and also passed on some pretty gorgeous recipes.  Check out the prawn krishna recipe on her blog Food Genie.

Considering my love of cooking, it’s odd that I’ve never posted a recipe on my blog.  Until now.

So, onto one of my staple yet favourite recipes – chilli con carne Baby Genie style.

Ingredients

1 Onion

500g Lean beef mince

Clove of garlic

1 tin kidney beans

Handful of mushrooms

Chilli powder or chilli flakes to taste

Tsp Coriander

Tsp Turmeric

Splodge of brown sauce

1 tin of tomatoes

Splodge of tomato puree

Shake of Worcestershire Sauce

2 tbs gravy granules

100ml beef stock

Couple of squares of good chocolate

Method

Cook in the expected order; fry onion, brown mince, add spices, add beans & mushrooms, add tomatoes and stock and simmer for 35 minutes.

Serve in tortilla wraps with creme fraiche and strong cheddar.

Voila, enjoy!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is that a 2p coin in your chili?

    • It is – but a chocolate coin!

  2. This looks yummy. I wish I’d learnt more cookery skills when I was younger but I am enjoying learning new ones now. Today Youngling and I are making a valentines day menu of heart shaped cookies, stew on heart shaped mash and a few more delights. Keep your recipes coming xx

    • That sounds fab, post some pics!

  3. Oooh, I am definitely going to try this with the chocolate in! I’ve never tried it but I love Chilli Chocolate so I totally get how this would work! x

    • It works! Along with the HP and Worcestershire sauce!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

