The Gallery: what I’m grateful for..

June 1, 2011 at 9:56 pm | Posted in Daily Life, The Gallery | 11 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This month marks an 18 month milestone.  18 months trying for a second baby.

It’s been a testing time; false hope, squashed excitement, calendar watching and day counting.

The last week has been particularly trying.  Last Wednesday I dropped and damaged my external hard drive.  It’s not a metaphor.  Although it could be.  I knocked it from my desk on the morning my printer broke and the internet went down.  To say I wasn’t in the mood for a drama is a slight understatement.

Because of other PC issues I’d moved all of our family photos and videos onto it and have now lost every single photo of the bear for the past year and every single video for the past three years.  Yes I can be dramatic and theatrical at times, but the hour of solid sobbing, ‘why me’ and ‘it’s not fair’ type wailing that ensued was pretty warranted I feel.

It’s currently at the menders with a 50% chance of recovery and a rather large invoice.

On reflection these events make me grateful for many things.

The advice and support of family and friends.  You know who you are – the DIY favours, the Google Queen, the shoulder crying in a smoky bar and the Britain’s Got Talent body popping giggles on the sofa.

It also makes me grateful for my blog – the record of the past three years that will never be lost.  And for Twitter, my instant search engine filled with real people ready to help at a seconds notice.

Most importantly I am grateful for the very special, exceptionally funny, sometimes monsterous and utterly un potty trained son I have.  He’s a small miracle and makes me smile (and raise an eyebrow) every single day.  He’s making new and very valuable memories right in front of my eyes.

This is my entry for The Gallery hosted by Tara at Sticky Fingers.  She’s a total poppet, go on over and see the other entries.  Shoo.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is a fabulous picture of your son! Sending some get well vibes for your hard drive and some quite different vibes for your quest for Number 2.

    • Thank you lovely lady!! If only I could stick an elastoplast on it! The hard drive that is!

  2. Aww what a sweet photo, just adorable! Sorry to hear that you had a rough week and keeping my fingers crossed for you in both of your quests.

    • Thank you! Maybe some blog love will help things along, you never know! If not, acupuncture is my next stop!!!!

  3. What a brilliant photo! Definatly one to show future sweethearts! Hope everythings restored soon for you. Nat

    • Thank you! It can only get better!!!

  4. fingers crossed you get your photos back. I would have cried like a baby too. cute picture!

  5. What a great post and a perfect little boy to be grateful for. I hope you get your dream of a second baby and you get all your photos back. Hugs xx

    • Thanks lovely, can’t wait to see you!

  6. Oh no *hugs* I totally don’t blame you for the crying, I’d have been the same! I really hope they manage to recover everything.

    • Thank you, everything crossed and double crossed, the wait is agony!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

