And then I said to my husband – I know you better than you know yourself

July 28, 2011 at 8:01 pm | Posted in And then I said to my husband..., Daily Life | 5 Comments

Daddy and bear at Baby Genie

I know that you constantly battle between your passion for your job and your overwhelming desire to be at home with us.  I know that you’re better at your job than you give yourself credit for and that people respect and look up to you.

I know that when you’re wondering around absent-mindedly you’re trying to figure out why you never have any clean boxer shorts.

I know that when you go to check the train times just in case they’ve changed it’s because you forgot what day of the week it is and you’re panicking that you should have left 10 minutes ago.

I know when bear won’t open his mouth for you to brush his teeth it drives you mad that he’ll open it wide as wide can be for me.  I also know that you know that there are many, many other things he’ll do for you and not for me.

I know that you don’t like risotto very much but that if you arrived home to find me cooking it you’d say ‘mmm that smells delicious I can’t wait’, especially if you knew I’d had a busy or stressful day.

I know that you don’t mean to leave toast crumbs everywhere and if you actually noticed them like I do that you would clean them up before you ran out of the house.

I know that you love us very much and that you talk about us to people at work; probably even to people you meet on the train.  I know that you tell people that I write and that you think I’m brilliant – I know that you mean it too.

I know that when I’m flicking channels that you’re itching to get your hands on the remote because I take too long.

I know that when I’m on the iPad when I’m cooking dinner you wonder whether I’m looking at a recipe or doing work emails.

I know that you want another baby as desperately as me and that each time we know it’s not our turn you wrack your brains as to how best get across your disappointment whilst being strong and supportive.

Do you know what, I know you better than you know yourself – and you’re pretty great, have I told you that lately?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ahh what a gorgeous post, a lovely hubbie you must have. Gosh you make me wistful for my hubbie to come home.

    I found that when I stopped trying to have a babe and relaxed, I fell PG with the twins, after 2 odd years of trying. I hope it happens soon for you.

    Mich x

  2. You really must love each other. Thanks for sharing this and letting us read your inspiring post.

  3. We should all tell our men just how much we love them every now and again. I hope both your dreams come true

    • When my husband got home from work late last night I served up dinner as he was pulling onto the drive and carried on what I was doing. As I put the potatoes onto the plate I realised I’d say hi but not even looked up. I stopped what I was doing, went to him and said ‘welcome home’ and gave him a kiss. It’s easy to forgot the people you love isn’t it.

  4. That is so lovely. What a gorgeous post to write. x


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

