Does every parent feel like their own child is a genius?

April 20, 2012 at 6:28 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 13 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today we found out that Bear got into our school of choice.  It’s the primary school of the pre-school he already attends so it’s a logical move, in walking distance and having met the head teacher and looked around we’re happy.  We originally saw these milk bottle elephants being made by one class and promptly copied them.

Over the past week or so Bear has learnt to spell his surname – and with a name like Warrilow, I can’t help but think that’s pretty good going.  Which makes me wonder, does every parent think they have a child prodigy on their hands?!  Please say yes; humour me.

Don’t get me wrong, he can’t play chess – yet.  I’m not a delusional mother that’s putting him forward for his first Grand Masters.  Or is that golf? I should really check.  Actually, he’s got a mean swing and with a bit of coaching from Grandad he’s showing promise with a club too…

So when we found out that we got our school of choice I just started thinking, will it be enough for him?  I have a sneaking suspicion that our son will be the type to be disruptive and arguementative if he gets bored.  Can’t think for the life of me where he gets that trait from…

I worry that if he’s not constantly engaged, enjoying what he’s doing and is able to do something hands on and not desk based for the majority of the day that he’ll be trouble.  One good aspect of the school he’s got into is that they operate a play based learning approach for the Early Years.  As long as they’re doing something linked to the learning objective of the day, they can do what they please – indoors or out.  When we looked around three little girls were creating a bug club on the playing field – complete with signage, beds and space for accessories.

Anyway, it’s like when you win £20 at the dog track, you instantly think ‘damn I wish I’d put a bigger bet on’.  It’s always the way; whatever we get, we want a little more.  Does anyone still go to the dogs?! I couldn’t think of a better analogy.

We’re going to see an academy tomorrow also – they teach the children bilingually from the age of four.  I know – sounds a bit intense, but they’re sponges at that age right? And husband is a natural at languages so he can help with homework.  I’ll find myself another role – I’ll be in charge of packed lunches, field trips and new uniforms.  It’ll be fine.

I’ve failed miserably at being a pre-school mum – turned up at 9am on inset day, not known about the nativity play until the night before, lost all of the letters containing important dates, brought in the wrong sort of yoghurt pot lids to exhange for books or computers.

So, I am determined to be a good school mum and that starts with choosing the right school.   Someone tell me it’ll all be ok – please?!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I was the opposite! As Maxi was our first child we had no idea and thought he was average. Little did we know. What I would say is that Mini needs to be challenged and that is the schools job, not yours as a parent., But the other side of me has seen children that are hot housed and it isn’t pretty!

    Both the boys are at the local state school and have been learning languages since Preschool

    • That’s really interesting, was Maxi particularly bright in one area, or generally? I want ours to go to state school – just a really good one! How are they doing with their languages? Do you help them?

  2. You’ll be a great school mum. Don’t worry x

    • I think I better get practicing!

  3. Every child is different, and you’ll find they work at their own speed, irrespective of what you might hope/wish. I would try to relax, and know that no exam results are at stake at this stage, and try not to be competitive/worried when the other kids are reading better or writing better. It will happen!!!!!

    • That’s really good advice – relaxing is the key! Although I’m not anxious about him being academic as such – just happy and motivated, I want him to enjoy school and see learning as fun. I know he’ll be flicking rolled up balls of paper (no doubt from the book he’s supposed to be working in) at the teacher with his ruler if he’s bored!
      I want him to feel inspired by his teachers to use his abilities how he wants to and go on to have a career that he loves. Precious, me?!! Ha ha!

      • Every parent wants their child to fulfil their potential, that’s all! It’s a long journey and I’m sure you’ll both do great…

  4. We’re not at that point yet still waiting to hear from pre-school. I am an ex teacher and the whole school thing scares me terribly as I kind of know what goes on behind the scenes.

    I’m popping along from the Britmums education roundup

    • Thanks for stopping by! We have teacher friend who’s son is in our son’s class and she seems happy for him to go there (she used to teach there before maternity leave with her second) which I think is a good sign!

  5. Probably, yes. I think there can be issues with being challenged and bored, yes. RoRo will naturally take the path of least resistance, which means she’ll do work she knows she’s already really good at and often needs a push to learn something new – once she actually tries, she picks it up very quickly, but she’s reluctant to try. The trouble is she’s already working at the level or above for her age, so no-one is trying to push her at school. We just do it at home for the moment, instead, but are keeping our eyes out for it becoming problematic later. (I was home-schooled after two years of primary school, due to their inability to accommodate me.)

    Your school sounds great – I like the sound of their all doing different activities as they choose around the same learning objectives. But I also love the sound of that academy – if we had one of them nearby, I’d be trying to get ours in – that’s definitely the best way to learn a language, short of moving to the country.

    • Will keep you posted, it’s a tough decision choosing a school, I wish it wasn’t my responsibility!!!!

  6. We didn’t get our school of choice but weren’t too fussed – the main thing was, um, avoiding the nearest school to us and we managed that!
    My partner is very clever, at least on paper (1st from Cambridge, PhD, lectured at St Andrews – obviously in person he can be a complete idiot, plus he chose me, but still). However, in primary school they tested his IQ (no idea why – they didn’t do this sort of thing in my school) and it was 76 – he ended up in the remedial group and was considered exceptionally slow. And he played along with it. His mother remembers him visiting a bird sanctuary with school, and at home afterwards he wrote pages and pages about the owls. At school, when asked to write about the visit, all he put was “I was sick on the bus”.
    Not sure where I’m going with this – just that it all worked out in the end.
    PS I’m a rubbish school mum myself – I’ve now started keeping spare clothes in the car cos I never remember non-uniform days. I ought to do that with cakes, too, for bake sales, except they’d probably go off. And this morning I lied about the school “obviously” losing the cheque I’d (not) sent in for the trip on Friday… Best go in case Mrs Griffiths is reading this.

    • Hilarious glad I’m not alone!!! I am definitely going to add spare clothes to the car, good call!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

