Bag of stuff in, bag out – the continuous organisation of a household

June 10, 2012 at 8:27 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 13 Comments
Tags: , , ,

It struck me today in a particularly mammoth bout of house reorganisation, that there is a constant stream of stuff coming in, and going out. Anyone else?

I don’t just mean food shopping coming in, and rubbish going out, I mean a constant cycle of buying, selling, recycling and donating.

On many a morning when I leave for work, I sling a bag of old children’s clothes in the boot for the local Help for Heroes charity shop, or a sack of plastic and cardboard for junk modelling at school (it’s good for the soul, right?  Ok, so it’s my junk modelling stuff that I never find time to do anything creative for our three year old with).

Likewise I often return home with not only food shopping, but a new bath mat, a bit of makeup, new shoes for Bear; the list goes on.  You can always find something that you can’t possibly live without.  I sometimes stand in a shop with something in my hand saying to myself ‘I do definitely need this, it will make me happy’.  Um….

And on top of that, I seem to be constantly finding new ways to keep things tidy – better storage boxes, a more logical cupboard to put something in, or general archiving of winter clothes, old photos and ‘I may fit back into/need that sometime’ type things.  My husband is constantly frustrated – the spot where his contact lenses live changes at least once a month.  Not good when you can’t see anyway.

But the sense of satisfaction is huge.  Please tell me I’m not alone.  It’s like cleansing.  Although today’s effort became so big, with the dismantling of a wardrobe and relocation of a dressing table, the house looks like we’re part way through moving in (or out).  But still, it feels good.

I should disclose at this point that I’m 14 weeks pregnant, so a large part of the above could be attributed to nesting, however I have always been like this, since a small child.  I recall, and I’m sure my mum will too, spending hours in my room arranging my knickknacks on shelves, setting them up proudly, almost like a shop window.  I actually went on to do work experience as a window dresser at Debenhams – I applied for Liberty’s but alas there were no openings.  It’s a career I sometimes wish I had pursued.

My saving grace in all of this has been my latest discovery (yes most new discoveries become an obsession for a short amount of time – but why do things by half?) – Gumtree.

How did I not know about Gumtree sooner?!  I have pretty much cleared out the garage – car seats, trikes, buggies, a desk, a pair of curtains – the wardrobe that had to be dismantled today.  So when you’re racking up twenty quid here and fifty quid there, then there really is no reason why I should be arriving home with nice, shiny new things – right?

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ah wow you’re preggers! congrats! V jealous. And yes I also agree with everything you say. the hubs can never find anything in our house cos I change the item’s ‘home’ so much! lol x

    • Thank you! We’re really excited, it’s taken 2.5 to get here!

      • 2.5 years?! I thought a year was bad! (And still waiting) x

      • I think the average is about 18 months. We were really shocked by it – it’s been hard. We fell pregnant in month one with our son and assumed the same would happen again – but it didn’t – then as soon as we stopped trying I fell pregnant! Good luck with your journey x

  2. Congratulations!!! I thought I was the only one. Also just discovered Gumtree to sell children’s clothing but not quite sure how to go about it.

    • It’s so easy to use, much quicker than eBay and totally free!

  3. Ive always been like this too! This weekend I moved all of the things in the kitchen cupboards much to Mr Bs dismay. While sorting I found our junk modelling stash! Every time I leave the house I’m thinking about what I can be taking with me to get rid of by selling, binning, recycling or more commonly, giving to family members, some of whom probably bought it here in the first place

    • I think I now have a box for everything – presents for upcoming birthdays, wires I don’t know what they’re for, buttons, ribbons – just call me Monica! I think when you become a parent it’s our way of staying ‘we can still have order if we want, just you watch!’.

  4. Gumtree is the best! As is Freecycle. I’m the same – every weekend I can see my husband roll his eyes as I announce, “We have MAJOR organisation to do this weekend,” before making him dismantle some form of furniture, put up new ones, get clothes out of the loft, put clothes in the loft etc etc etc. It never ends. But my house still manages to always feel like a disorganised chaos zone.

    • Same here, there is always room for improvement (ha ha!). I wonder how and why we accumulate so much stuff?!

  5. Oh wow, you are pregnant! Many, many congratulations.

    I am also always sorting, tidying, replacing etc etc. It is never ending!

  6. You are not alone – my poor family are constantly watching me sort things (and note I say watching me, rather than doing it themselves – trouble is if the kids do it, they keep every little scrap of paper and snapped rubber band!). You’ve inspired me to actually take my bags of clothing and bits and pieces to a charity shop rather than shoving them back behind a door and out of sight! Am hiding from my fabric and craft stash now though because it’s all a bit too overwhelming to deal with right now! 😀

    • I am hiding from odd socks and clothes that need altering!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

