A taste of child-free life

August 22, 2012 at 5:00 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

 

Is it wrong to be more excited than bereft that your four-year old is away for the next three days?!

Our son was packed off for Somerset this morning with Grandma and Grandad for a three-day break with Great Grandma at the seaside.  Bliss – for me that is.

I do feel slightly lost knowing that I won’t be picking him up today or haring around in the morning throwing Cheerios at him and making peanut butter sandwiches for his packed lunch.

Much like many other mums, I work pretty much full-time and school holidays don’t mean the same thing to me as stay at home mums.  I’m  a bit envious of that to be honest but we manage the juggle of alternative childcare and holiday clubs and pack in fun things at the weekends.  We had a trip to France last month and now Bear is off to enjoy the delights of Weston-super-Mare and Wooky Caves so it’s win win in my eyes.

More than anything though I’m delighting in the fact that I’ll leave work shortly, go home and open the post, freshen up, maybe catch up on the news, then head out for dinner with a friend.

Tomorrow morning I’ll get up at the same time but fuss over my hair, eat my breakfast in peace and leave the house alone to go to work rather than dashing to holiday club with a reluctant pre-schooler who wants to play rough and tumble with me instead.

And I’m not ashamed that I’m making the most of it either – at six months pregnant it aint going to get any easier this parenting lark.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a glass half full type of person, I have a happy life and can’t complain at anything, but being a mother does present itself with challenges (chicken pox, fights over watching Tom & Jerry on the iPad, getting around a supermarket with your sanity intact without resorting to Haribo bribes…).

If I’m really clever I’ll squeeze in eyebrow threading tomorrow and a swim on Thursday.  And maybe I’ll talk to my husband a bit more too…

Or I’ll just end up working an hour later each day and wasting the opportunity….let’s see shall we.

 

Image courtesy of Jetalone Flickr Creative Commons

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Make the most of it and find some you time please!

  2. Sometimes the break does us good. It’s hard to juggle it all x

  3. Lush! – and well deserved. Don´t waste it in the office (I always do too… silly me), go get some YOU time! Any minute now you have a person latched on to you 24/7 😉 Good luck with that too btw!

  4. Enjoy the time you have for yourself. Ahh private trips to the bathroom, what a luxury! Your little man is going to have a fab vacation with Gran and you’ll get a few days of grownup time, sounds like a win-win.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

