What are the most important qualities in a husband?

September 10, 2012 at 1:26 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

According to an article in The Telegraph today, the modern man now values our brain over our bodies.  At last, step off the treadmill ladies.  Although the modern woman is probably keeping in shape for herself, not her man.

In contrast, the report reveals that women are becoming increasingly obsessed with the appearance of the opposite sex as finding a man who can offer us financial security becomes less of a concern.  This is based on the fact that more and more women are becoming the breadwinner in the home or at least have a well-paying career to fall back on.

If you’re married, what do you recall your top five must haves being when hunting for a husband?  And if you’re single, are the qualities you look for different now to they were 10 or 20 years ago?

I’d hazard a guess that when I was single, yes looks came high up on the list, as did exciting career and bags of money.  I wonder if Anastasia Steele had extreme sexual preferences on her list?

Now, settled into married life with a son and baby on the way, the qualities I value in my husband have changed somewhat.  Those now being his sense of humour, value of family life and wealth of general knowledge – of which when it comes to geography and history in particular, I am distinctly lacking.

Regardless of my career or income status I think I’d always like my partner to have a good job and decent income – it’s about more than paying the mortgage, it’s about their drive, ambition and commitment.  But I can definitely believe that the 2012 woman is far less worried about being supported or given spending money – a husband that holds the purse strings is never a good thing.

So, here’s my 2012 must have husband traits, would be interested to know yours.

1. Sense of humour

2. Family values

3. Looks (or equally as important, dress sense)

4. General knowledge / ability to take part in Trivial Pursuit

5. Sense of priority (ie: dinner with me vs trip to the gym….)

We’ve come to the conclusion that there’s no such thing as an ideal man, but if you’ve found something near to perfect, what are his top five qualities?  Let’s start some husband envy.

Image courtesy of TedxPioneerValley2012 on Flickr Creative Commons

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. If I could have my time over again I would definitely choose a chef / builder / plumber / electrician / painter & decorator type….

    • Ha ha someone handy around the house!

  2. 1. Energy, drive
    2. Ambition
    3. Priorities (me!)
    4. Humor
    5. Family values
    6.spirituality
    7.looks, and willingness to do maintenance on self, hahah

    /lou


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

