All’s fair in love and spending cuts

October 16, 2010 at 11:04 am | Posted in Daily Life, Work & Life | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

As I sit and enjoy my Finest preserve on multiseed wholemeal whole grain good for you batch loaf and pour over the Saturdayweekend papers, the spending review of the coming week threatens to interrupt a sunny morning, reminding us that actually you better wake up and smell the (freshly brewed) coffee – this means you too mucker.  It might be dry white bread and water before long.

Whether it’s Bognor’s finest or the whiter than white shores of the Azores, there’s not really much point in burying ones head in the proverbial sand any longer.

Rodin’s Mother & Child courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons.

If you have a family, despite Clegg’s ‘children come first despite tough times’ statement, it’s really up to us as parent’s to ensure that happens.

The baby bond? C’est la vie.  Child benefits?  So long, nice knowing you; for many.  Children’s Centres?  One in five more than likely to close, and the possibility of those not cut needing voluntary staffing to survive.  Com ci com ca.

And, on top of that if you’re not married, you may as well just go and stick your head in the oven (which by now should be full of Bernard Matthews turkey drummers rather than Tesco finest prawn skewers with lime chilli marinade).  Reported recently in the FT (from the copy on my bureau harumph found via Google search), Cameron hinted at softening the child benefit cut blow by looking to a tax break for married couples.

So, if you’re co-habiting, a stay at home mum with a partner earning £44,000, are passionate about the welfare of your children, then all you’re really getting for your troubles right now is a little wet fish in the face.

Children’s Centres of the future…bringing in a few extra pennies.

And that wet fish is a wake up call for us all.  It aint pretty, and it aint getting any better right now.  I don’t profess to be an avid follower of politics but I do take it seriously now that I have a family that it will affect it many, many ways.

These are tough times, but we’re not softies are we?  Ok I’m a Southerner but I’m a glass half full type (usually of the red and fruity variety; and I’m not talking the small bottles of ridiculously high in sugar yet convenient kids drinks).

Time will tell.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do fear for the type of world we are bring our children up in – all I keep hearing is fair, but there is nothing fair with what they are pplanning on doing. Childcare places for the deprived from 2 years old – why? I love in a very deprived area, these mothers done need their children put in to nursery, they are the ones that need educating not their children. I feel a blog post coming on – thanks for spuring me on.

    • Pleasure, look forward to reading yours! Am commenting on it in local paper next week so will send you the link!

  2. Catherine, I love the way you’ve brought all of our concerns together in one post. The things I’m currently worrying about are … as someone who was wisely saving my daughter’s child benefit to pay for her university tuition fees in the future, how the blinking bananas am I going to cope when (a) we don’t get child benefit any more and (b) tuition fees are going to require a second mortgage by the time our kids are of that age. I’m also still stressing about childcare vouchers – what did they decide about that? They don’t quite cover my costs for the month but for a couple who are both higher rate tax payers, its a BIG loss if they go. Am seriously (No, really) considering moving to the continent.

    • I’m with you there, let’s move abroad! Just reading about all the amazing Christmas activities put on for children in Germany – and they’re all free! Better brush up – danke!

  3. Ahh, I’m with you! I think once you have a family you realise how important politics is and now more than ever!
    I am of course an unmarried stay at home mummy whose partner works hard so we can get hit in the face with a wet fish. Nice!

  4. It’s all positively depressing! I personally think they should be doing more to discourage mothers who have 20 children and live off benefits.

    • I have to agree. If you want a big family you need to put plans in place to support them. I read about the woman with 7 children on £65k in benefits I think it was, and the mother who used her child benefits to pay for a boob job!

  5. This time last year, I was about to close the doors on my business (25 year established family business which meant that emotionally it also felt like the loss of a member of the family) and my financial independence. Would love to be able to plan for my son’s future but for now, we’re juggling what we need simply to live (on v limited benefit). A year ago I could never have imagined that I’d still be here today, muddling through and somehow managing to cover our bills every month. But we are! And do you know, I will be a better person for it. Glass half full…tick!!

    PS Am more bothered by those who stash their money in places the tax man can’t find it than those who aren’t really educated enough to realise what they’re doing to the benefits system and the economy as a whole. Just saying…

    • Thanks for posting, you have to glass half full don’t you! And I really admire you too.
      xx

  6. That photo of your little fella at the computer is fab:) Thanks for visiting my blog:) Jen

    • Ah thanks, and hi! It’s nice to have discovered you! x


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.