The answers to every single ‘why’ question you’ll ever need

November 9, 2012 at 8:33 pm | Posted in Daily Life | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

We’re in full on why stage at the moment.  Bear is four years old.  Car journeys are by far the peak time for the barrage of incessant ‘why’ questions.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that he’s curious, interested and conversational.  But it’s hard work.

So, here is a quick guide to all the answers to those tricky and demanding ‘why’ questions you could ever need.  Oh and a few ‘what’s’ and ‘how’s’ thrown in for good measure.

‘Why is the sun shining?’ Because it’s a lovely summer day.

‘Why is it raining?’ Because it’s a British summer day.

‘Why are we going to school?’ Because you need to be educated to get a good job to earn enough to bail me and your daddy out when we realise our pensions are tiny.

‘Why are we late?’ Because mummy underestimated what time we needed to get up, despite knowing we have to be at school at the same time every day and couldn’t find anything to put on that was worthy even of the school run.

‘What does underestimated mean?’ It’s something that you do on a daily basis when you become a mummy.

‘Why did you forget my dinner money?’ Because when I had you, you corrupted my brain and turned important parts of it like my memory to jelly.

‘Why are we going to Grandma and Grandad’s again?’ Because mummy needs to sit down for more than 30 seconds.

‘How long is 30 seconds?’ Not long enough.

‘What’s not long enough?’ That’s not a question.

‘Why are you going to work?So I can take a breather. So I can earn money to buy your Christmas presents.

‘Why aren’t you talking?’

‘Why aren’t you talking?’

‘Why aren’t you talking?‘ That’s not a question.

‘Why are you taller than me?’ Because I am.

‘But why?’ Because I’m more grown up.

‘When will I be that tall?’ If you ask any more questions you will never grow.

 

So there.

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love this. Bud isn’t quite old enough for ‘why’ yet – not really looking forward to that stage!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.